WhatsApp will allow us to hide the “Last Accessed” status from strangers

WhatsApp will allow us to hide the “Last Accessed” status from strangers

WhatsApp is rolling out a new privacy measure that hides our “last seen” status from users we’ve never chatted with.

WhatsApp is introducing a major privacy change to prevent people on the messaging platform from seeing the “Last Accessed” status of users they have never chatted with before.

As we all know, a contact’s “Last Accessed” status is at the top of the conversation thread, informing us when that contact last opened the app and was active on the platform. We can disable the status so that other contacts can’t see when we last connected, but the setting options are currently limited to “Everyone”, “My contacts” and “None”.

As noted by WABetaInfo , this change is already active for some users as some have recently reported that they can no longer see the WhatsApp status of other users.

To improve the privacy and security of our users, we’re making it harder for people you don’t know and haven’t chatted with to see your last login on WhatsApp. This won’t change anything between you and your friends, family, and businesses you know or have messaged with before.

In addition to this new feature, WhatsApp has tested a new privacy option that will allow users to choose specific accounts from which to hide the “Last Accessed” status.

This feature was first reported in September and is now available to users participating in the WhatsApp beta program on iOS and Android.

, , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.